El Camino Real chooses a five-person slate for its next bishop

Posted Mar 12, 2019

[Episcopal News Service] The Diocese of El Camino Real Standing Committee announced March 12 a slate of five candidates for the fourth bishop of the diocese.

They are:

The Rev. Canon Lucinda Ashby, canon to the ordinary, Diocese of Idaho;

The Rev. Deon Johnson, rector, St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Brighton, Michigan;

The Rev. Janine Schenone, rector, Good Samaritan Episcopal Church, San Diego, California;

The Rev. Channing Smith, rector, Saint Andrew’s Episcopal Church and School, Saratoga, California; and

The Rev. Canon Janet Waggoner, canon to the ordinary and chief of staff, Diocese of Fort Worth.

Their biographies and Q&A answers are here. Each candidate will submit a brief video introducing themselves, which will be posted to the website in the next few weeks, according to the announcement.

The electing convention will be June 1.

Bishop Mary Gray-Reeves announced on March 15, 2018, that she would call for the election of her successor. The new bishop will be ordained and consecrated on January 11, 2020, during Gray-Reeves’ 13th year as bishop.

A seven-day petition period is currently open, during which additional candidates may come forward. The petition forms and the requirements are available here. Completed petitions and backup material must be submitted no later than March 16 by midnight PST. Anyone considering being a petitioner is asked to notify the President of the Standing Committee the Rev. Shelley Denney immediately at shelley@eca-sj.org, even before filing paperwork, so that background checks may begin as soon as possible, the announcement said.

“Walkabouts” will be held the week of May 4-11.

The candidates have been asked to refrain from coming into the diocese as guest preachers, retreat leaders, workshop presenters or in other capacities, according to the announcement. Episcopalians in the diocese were told to not contact the candidates or ask them questions.