Historical Society announces grant awards

Posted Jul 28, 2014

[Historical Society press release] The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church is pleased to announce grants it will award in 2014. Determination of grant recipients were made during the June Board meeting of the Society held at the Episcopal Theological School at Claremont, California. The Rev. Dr. Robyn M. Neville, Chair of the Grants and Research Committee, announced the recipients as determined by the committee. Applications were received from individual scholars and academic and ecclesiastical groups for grants to support significant research, conferences, and publications relating to the history of the Church of England, the Anglican Communion and Anglican and Episcopal Churches in North America.

The following grants were announced:

  • The Rev. Benjamin Anthony of Vanderbilt University, for his dissertation research on Phillips Brooks’ preaching;
  • The Grafton Commemoration project of the Diocese of Fond du Lac, a matching grant, to support a research paper competition that honors the Rt. Rev. Charles Chapman Grafton;
  • Dr. Judith Hull of Emerson College, for research that will complete her book project, Trinity Church Wall Street and Social Reform;
  • The Rev. Dane Neufeld of Wycliffe College in Toronto, for his dissertation research on the 19th century Anglican philosopher and theologian, Henry Mansel;
  • Dr. Scott Rohrer, independent historian and editor with the National Journal Group, for his book project, Religion and Revolution in the British Atlantic World;
  • Mr. Peter Walker of Columbia University, for archival research that will complete his dissertation, titled, Reform, Toleration, and Nation-Building: the CoE 1774-1829.

Grants are provided annually and are modest, ranging generally from $1,000-$2,000. Recipients are encouraged to publish their work, when appropriate, in Anglican and Episcopal History, the quarterly academic journal of the Society.

For over a century HSEC has been an association dedicated to preserving and disseminating information about the history of the Episcopal Church. Founded in Philadelphia in 1910 as the Church Historical Society, its members include scholars, writers, teachers, ministers (lay and ordained) and many others who have an interest in the objectives and activities of the Historical Society.