Serena Beeks, DuBose Egleston Jr. elected to NAES governing board

Posted Jul 1, 2013

[National Association of Episcopal Schools press release] The Governing Board of the National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) is pleased to announce the election of Serena E. Beeks, D.Min., and D. DuBose Egleston, Jr., to the board effective July 1, 2013. Dr. Beeks, executive director of the Commission on Schools of the diocese of Los Angeles, will serve a full, three-year term. Mr. Egleston, head of school at Porter-Gaud School, Charleston, South Carolina, will serve out the remaining two years of a full term being vacated by L. Hamilton Clark, who is retiring from the Episcopal Academy in Newtown Square, Pennsylvania.

“We are thrilled to welcome Dr. Beeks and Mr. Egleston to the Governing Board. Serena and DuBose are leaders of superb distinction and commitment to Episcopal schools and education,” said Doreen S. Oleson, Ed.D., head of school at Saint Mark’s Episcopal School, Altadena, California, and president of the NAES Governing Board. “I look forward to working with Serena and DuBose as we continue to expand the reach of the association’s mission and ministry,” said the Reverend Daniel R. Heischman, D.D., executive director of NAES.

Serena E. Beeks, D.Min., is the executive director of the Commission on Schools of the diocese of Los Angeles. She was the founding head of school of Saint Mark’s Episcopal School, Upland, California, which opened in 1982 and of which she is head of school emerita. Since her departure from Saint Mark’s in the late 1990s, she has served as a school head, division head, and interim chaplain in Episcopal and independent schools.

From 1991-1997 and 1999-2000, Dr. Beeks was a member of the NAES Governing Board, serving as its secretary from 1993 to 1997. She was also co-chair of NAES Biennial Conferences 1993 and 2000. She is a 2006 recipient of the association’s Ruth Jenkins Award for outstanding service to NAES and Episcopal schools. Currently, she volunteers and assists with partnerships
between Episcopal schools in the U.S. and in the diocese of Haiti.

A graduate of the University of California, Dr. Beeks holds a doctor of ministry degree in educational leadership from Virginia Theological Seminary and a master of arts degree from the Claremont Graduate School.

D. DuBose Egleston, Jr., is the head of school at Porter-Gaud School, Charleston, South Carolina. A 1993 graduate of the school, he joined Porter-Gaud in 2000 as director of technology. He then served as assistant head for finance and operations (2007-2009) and acting head of school (2009-2010) before being named head of school in 2010. Mr. Egleston’s ties to Porter-Gaud are multi- generational: his great-grandfather graduated from Porter Military Academy in 1897, his grandfather was chairman of the science department, and the school’s highest award for science achievement is endowed by the Egleston family.

Mr. Egleston graduated from Furman University with a bachelor of arts degree in biology. He received his master of business administration degree from The Citadel. Prior to his return to Porter-Gaud, he worked for the South Carolina Department of Natural Resources, and then as an academic computing specialist at Furman.

The National Association of Episcopal Schools (NAES) is an independently incorporated, voluntary membership organization that supports, serves, and advocates for the vital work and ministry of those who serve nearly 1,200 Episcopal schools and early childhood education programs throughout the Episcopal Church, as well as school establishment efforts. Chartered in 1965, with historic roots dating to the 1930s, NAES is the only pre-collegiate educational association that is both national in scope and Episcopal in character. The association advances Episcopal education and strengthens Episcopal schools through essential services, resources, conferences, and networking opportunities on Episcopal school identity, leadership, and governance, and on the spiritual and professional development of school leaders.