North Carolina diocese announces 5 nominees for bishop suffragan

By diocesan staff
Posted Nov 1, 2012

[Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina] The Nominating Committee of the Episcopal Diocese of North Carolina Nov. 1 announced five nominees to stand for election as the diocese’s sixth bishop suffragan.

The nominees are:

North Carolina Bishop Michael Curry commends the nominees and the Nominating Committee. “We are praying for a bishop suffragan who will be a missionary bishop and partner with us as we work to proclaim, live and witness to the gospel of Jesus in the mission context of the new 21st century Galilee,” Curry said. “The Nominating Committee has prayerfully identified five priests capable of being just that.” (Watch Bishop Curry’s video announcement here.)

The nominees will participate in a visit to the diocese Jan. 8-12, 2013, during which time they will meet with clergy and participate in three “walk-abouts” with clergy and lay people of the diocese. During the walk-abouts, nominees will have time to address those present in a general session and to answer questions in smaller groups.

The bishop suffragan election will take place during the 197th Annual Convention of the Diocese of North Carolina Jan. 25-26, 2013, at the Benton Convention Center in Winston-Salem, North Carolina. The election will be broadcast via livestream video. The consecration of the bishop-elect will take place at the historic Duke Chapel in Durham, North Carolina, on June 15, 2013. Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori will serve as chief consecrator.

Additional information about the nominees, the petition process for submitting additional candidates, schedule of events and resources for congregations are available on the bishop suffragan search website.