Nominations open for Episcopal Church bishop representative on Anglican Consultative Council

Posted Oct 18, 2017

[Episcopal Office of Public Affairs] The Rev. Canon Dr. Michael Barlowe, executive officer of the General Convention, has announced that nominations to serve as the Episcopal Church bishop member on the Anglican Consultative Council (ACC) are now being accepted through Nov. 20. 

The ACC is one of the four instruments of communion in the Anglican Communion, of which the Episcopal Church is one of the 39 province members. According to the ACC website, the role of the ACC is to facilitate the cooperative work of the churches of the Anglican Communion.

The position has been vacated because the term expired for Bishop Ian Douglas of Connecticut.

The term is for three meetings of the ACC, which is generally nine years. The triennial meetings require a two-week commitment. The next ACC meeting is slated for 2019; location to be finalized. The ACC is the only instrument of communion that includes clergy and lay people along with bishops. It is also the only instrument of communion that is a registered charity under British law, and as such, it is the corporate entity of the Anglican Communion.

Among the requirements, the bishop must be a member of the Episcopal Church House of Bishops. Also a thorough knowledge of the Anglican Communion and the Episcopal Church is required, as well as familiarity with governance structures. 

Nominations must include the nominee’s permission to stand for election, a one-page explanation of the nominee’s qualifications and a digital photo. Materials should be submitted to Barlowe at The deadline is Nov. 20.

The bishop member will be elected by Executive Council, according to Canon 1.4.2(g), at the January 2018 Executive Council meeting in Baltimore, Maryland. Following a review of the nominations by the Executive Committee of Executive Council, two to five names will be presented for voting. Nominations may also be made by Executive Council. The term will take effect immediately.

Current Episcopal Church members of ACC are the Rev. Gay Clark Jennings of the Diocese of Ohio and president of the House of Deputies (priest/deacon); and Rosalie Ballantine of the Virgin Islands (lay).