Klusmeyer joins Joint Nominating Committee

Posted Mar 24, 2014

[Episcopal Church Office of Public Affairs press release]  Bishop Mike Klusmeyer of the Diocese of West Virginia has been named to the Episcopal Church Joint Nominating Committee for the Election of the Presiding Bishop (JNCPB), replacing Bishop Nathan Baxter of the Diocese of Central Pennsylvania, who has resigned from the committee.

The announcement was made during the House of Bishops Spring Retreat meeting in Camp Allen, Navasota, Texas (Diocese of Texas).

Klusmeyer was appointed by Presiding Bishop Katharine Jefferts Schori to represent Province III.

The JNCPB is comprised of a lay member, a priest or deacon, and a bishop elected from each of the nine provinces of the Episcopal Church, plus two youth representatives, appointed by President of the House of Deputies, the Rev. Gay Jennings. The General Convention Deputies and bishops serve a three-year term to conclude at the close of General Convention 2015 in Salt Lake City.