Diocese of Texas announces slate for bishop suffragan

Posted Nov 27, 2018

[Diocese of Texas] Three candidates for bishop suffragan in the Diocese of Texas were approved by the Standing Committee on November 26. They include: the Rev. Hannah E. Atkins Romero, the Rev. Canon Glenice Robinson-Como, and the Rev. Canon Kathryn ‘Kai’ Ryan.

“After diligent work and prayerful discernment with male and female applicants from inside and outside the Diocese, it was our joy to present these three outstanding candidates for Bishop Suffragan to the Standing Committee for final approval,” said the Rev. Chuck Treadwell, chair of the Search Committee and rector of St. David’s, Austin. The Standing Committee met Monday, November 26 to finalize the slate of candidates.
Instructions for the petition process for additional candidates, which opens at 9 a.m. CST on Nov. 27 and closes five business days later on Dec. 3 at 5 p.m. CST, can be found here.
Please save Saturday, Jan. 5, 2019, at Camp Allen to meet the candidates for bishop suffragan. The day will begin at 9:30 a.m. with prayer. Each candidate will offer a brief presentation followed by a question and answer session. Register here.
The election of the new bishop suffragan will take place at the diocese’s 170th Council at The Woodlands Waterway Marriott Hotel and Conference Center on Feb. 22, 2019. The new bishop suffragan will succeed the Rt. Rev. Dena A. Harrison, who retires at the end of 2018. A celebration of Harrison’s ministry will be held at Council.