Colorado chooses three to stand for bishop election

By ENS Staff
Posted Jul 24, 2018

[Episcopal News Service] The Diocese of Colorado Standing Committee has nominated three priests for election as the 11th bishop of Colorado.

The election will take place Oct. 27 during the diocese’s 131st Annual Convention.

The slate includes:

The Rev. Kimberly (Kym) Lucas, rector, St. Margaret’s Episcopal Church, Washington, D.C.;

The Rev. Canon Michael Pipkin, missioner for missional management, Diocese of Minnesota; and

The Rev. Canon Ruth Woodliff-Stanley, canon to the ordinary, Diocese of Colorado.

Information about each of the nominees is available here.

The July 23 announcement began a period for additional nominations by petition.

The next bishop of Colorado will succeed the Rt. Rev. Robert O’Neill who announced late last year that he would retire in the spring of 2019. He was ordained a priest in the diocese in 1982 and became the 10th diocesan bishop in October 2003.

After the bishop-elect receives the canonically required consent of a majority of the Episcopal Church’s diocesan standing committees and bishops with jurisdiction, Presiding Bishop Michael Curry will ordain and consecrate the new bishop May 18, 2019.


Comments (1)

  1. Alex Dyer says:

    It is nice to begin to see nominees for bishops who reflect the diversity of our church.

Comments are closed.