Diocese of Arizona announces slate of 3 candidates for next bishop

Posted Jul 13, 2018

[Episcopal Diocese of Arizona] The Standing Committee of The Episcopal Diocese of Arizona has announced a slate of candidates who will stand for election as the VI Bishop of Arizona at Diocesan Convention on Saturday, Oct. 20, 2018.

The candidates, in alphabetical order, are:

The Rev. Dr. Dena Marcel Cleaver-Bartholomew
The Rev. Jennifer Anne Reddall
The Rev. Andrew Wallace Walter

The Bishop Search/Nominating Committee, after careful and prayerful discernment, recommended these candidates to the Standing Committee, which voted to approve the slate.

“We believe these individuals possess the skills, qualities, experience and spiritual grounding necessary for the office of Bishop, and we are excited to commend them to the diocese,” said the Rev. Canon Daniel Tantimonaco, President of the Standing Committee.

The Standing Committee also announces the opening of the Petition Process on Friday, July 13, 2018, by which nominees may be added to the slate. The Petition Process closes at 5 p.m. (Arizona time) on Friday, July 20, 2018.

The introductions of the candidates, in the form of brief bios and answers to essay questions posed by the Search Committee, can be found on the diocesan website.

Parishioners across the diocese will have the opportunity to meet the candidates in person at “walkabouts” to be held in three locations across the diocese Sept. 24-28, 2018, before the Oct. 20 election at Diocesan Convention.