First ceremony for Archbishop of Canterbury’s new awards

Posted Apr 1, 2016

[Lambeth Palace] The first recipients of a new set of non-academic awards for outstanding service to the church were recognized in a ceremony at Lambeth Palace March 31.

Archbishop Justin Welby gave out the new awards, which recognize outstanding service in different fields, including those of Archbishop Justin’s ministry priorities: prayer and the religious life; reconciliation; and evangelism and witness.

The new suite of awards consist of three existing Lambeth Awards – the Lambeth Cross, the Canterbury Cross and the Cross of St Augustine – and six new awards named after previous holders of the office of Archbishop of Canterbury.

Forty people received the awards, many Christians but some of other faiths. Recipients included religious, political and community leaders, musicians and others.

The medals were made from Fairtrade silver by the London firm Cred Jewellery.

Opening the ceremony, the Archbishop explained why he wished to give these awards. “The first reason is that I want people who make outstanding contributions through their engagement with the Church of England and the wider Anglican Communion to know that they are recognized. Of course I know that none of you here today have done what you have done with any thought of public recognition. Nevertheless. I hope you will allow the Church to honor you in this way.

“The second reason for giving awards is to point the church at large and the world at large at examples of lives and actions which embody our beliefs and values. St Francis of Assisi is often quoted as saying, ‘Preach the Gospel always: when necessary, use words.’ Your actions and your lives speak volumes.”

The Lambeth Awards will be presented in the spring each year.

The awards’ recipients are (click here to read the individual citations):

The Lambeth Cross for Ecumenism

  • His Grace, Bishop Angaelos OBE, General Bishop of the Coptic Orthodox Church in the United Kingdom
  • His Eminence Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain
  • Canon Simon Stephens OBE RN

The Canterbury Cross for Services to the Church of England

  • Mr. Peter Beesley
  • Dr. Philip Giddings
  • Dr. Sarah Horsman
  • Mr. Carl Lee
  • The Rev. Canon Bob Mackintosh

Cross of St Augustine for Services to the Anglican Communion

  • Professor Salvatore Bordonali
  • The Rev. Canon James Callaway
  • The Rev. Hamdy Daoud
  • Bishop Omindo Hilkiah Deya
  • Professor Fabiano Di Prima
  • Mrs. Phyllis Richardson

The Dunstan Award for Prayer and the Religious Life

  • Fr. Laurent Fabre CCN
  • Brother Samuel SSF

The Hubert Walter Award for Reconciliation and Interfaith Cooperation

  • Mr. Bill Marsh
  • Shaykh Ibrahim Mogra
  • Sir Andrew Pocock KCMG
  • Rabbi Dr David Rosen KSG CBE
  • The Rev. Martin Turner

The Alphege Award for Evangelism and Witness

  • Mrs. Chrysogon Bamber
  • The Rev. John Coles
  • The Rev. Pamela Cooper
  • Deaconess Susan C Essam
  • Pastor Agu Irukwu
  • Mr. Tim Royle

The Lanfranc Award for Education and Scholarship

  • Mr. David Day
  • Miss Maureen Hogarth
  • Dr. Eeva John

The Langton Award for Community Service

  • Canon Sir Tony Baldry
  • Bishop Geoffrey Davies
  • The Rev. Joel Edwards
  • The Ven. Duncan Green
  • The Ven. Arthur Hawes
  • Sir Hector Sants

The Cranmer Award for Worship

  • Canon Dr. James Lancelot
  • Dr. Philip Moore
  • Mr. Matt Redman
  • Mr. Michael Williams