Historical Society makes donation to Kenyan University

Posted Jun 9, 2015

[Historical Society of the Episcopal Church press release] The Historical Society of the Episcopal Church has donated a set of their quarterly journal, Anglican and Episcopal History, from the 1970s through today to the library of St. Paul’s University, Limuru, Kenya. A number of books that were received for reviews in the journal were also donated.

The donation of hundreds of items were prepared by Matthew P. Payne, HSEC director of operations, and the Rev. Sheryl Kujawa-Holbrook, book editor of Anglican and Episcopal History. They began their journey by being delivered to the Rev. Joseph Duggan in San Francisco. Duggan is founder of the Postcolonial Theology Network and to avoid the high cost of shipping, members of the network will take them as they travel to Kenya for the network’s summer conference.

The need for the donation was made know by Esther Mombo, a prominent Anglican theologian and former deputy vice chancellor of the university. “I offer our sincerest thanks for the journals and books to support scholarship at St. Paul’s, especially in the area of church history.”

Founded as an Anglican institution, the United Theological College at St. Paul’s University is now an ecumenical divinity school serving Anglicans, Presbyterians, Methodists, and the Reformed Church of East Africa. The school has a long-standing reputation of training theologians and pastors in various parts of Africa for service, including archbishops, bishops, moderators, and general secretaries.

“This exchange is an important opportunity to have Anglicans in another part of the world become familiar with Anglican and Episcopal History,” Kujawa-Holbrook said.

Payne said that the journal has been published since 1932, and that “recently all back issues were added to the academic online journal service, JSTOR.”

For more than a century, HSEC has been an association dedicated to preserving and disseminating information about the history of The Episcopal Church. Founded in Philadelphia in 1910 as the Church Historical Society, its members include scholars, writers, teachers, ministers (lay and ordained) and many others who have an interest in the objectives and activities of the Historical Society.