Texas Bishop C. Andrew Doyle to lead Compass Rose Society

Posted Nov 6, 2014

[Compass Rose Society press release] The board of directors of the Compass Rose Society, an international charitable organization that provides financial support to the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Anglican Consultative Council, has elected the Rt. Rev. C. Andrew Doyle, the ninth bishop of Texas, as president of the Society succeeding the Rev. Canon John L. Peterson.

Commenting on his new role, Doyle said: “I am honored to lead the Compass Rose Society. We are excited about our plans to continue to fund mission, ministry, and communications in the global Anglican Communion. We are grateful for the work of immediate past-president Rev. Canon John Peterson who has given so much to the Society and to the Communion. And, we look forward, as a Society, to developing partnerships and collaborations that build a spiritually healthy, reconciled, and growing Anglican Communion.”

Peterson said, “I am delighted that Bishop Doyle has accepted the role of president of the Society. Under his leadership, our future is bright.”

Doyle was elected bishop coadjutor of the Diocese of Texas on May 24, 2008 and was consecrated on November 22, 2008 at St. Martin’s Episcopal Church, Houston. He was seated as the ninth bishop of Texas on June 7, 2009 at Christ Church Cathedral, Houston.

Born in 1966 in Carbondale, Illinois, and raised in Houston, Bishop Doyle served five years as canon to the ordinary prior to his election. Bishop Doyle holds a bachelor of fine arts from the University of North Texas and served at St. Stephen’s Episcopal School, Austin before receiving an M. Div. from Virginia Theological Seminary. He was ordained deacon in 1995 and priest the following year. He served at Christ Church, Temple, St. Francis, College Station, and as canon to the ordinary for Bishop Wimberly.

Bishop Doyle is the author of “Unabashedly Episcopalian: Proclaiming the Good News of the Episcopal Church,” published in 2012 by Morehouse Publishing.

The Society also elected three new directors to four-year terms:

  • The Rev. Canon Michele V. Hagans, associate rector Grace Episcopal Church, Silver Spring, MD
  • Charles M. Royce, chief executive, Royce & Associates, LLC and president of the Royce Funds, Greenwich, CT
  • Tse Sik Hung David, managing director, Hop Yuen (Holdings) Ltd., Hong Kong, SAR

The Compass Rose Society, with more than 300 members worldwide, was founded in 1997. It takes its name from the symbol of the Anglican Communion. Membership information is available at the Society’s Web site www.compassrosesociety.org.

Since its founding, The Compass Rose Society has donated more than $8 million to support the mission of the Anglican Communion. In 2013, the Society’s contributions included gifts to the Anglican Consultative Council; the Diocese of South Africa; the Diocese of Cape Coast, Ghana; St. George’s College, Jerusalem; the Diocese of Jerusalem; the Diocese of Malawi; and the International Anglican Women’s Network.